Thankfulness.


“Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Three of the greatest practices for a Christian to take part in are outlined in that passage: rejoicing, praying, and giving thanks. That is God’s will for us. He desires for us to rejoice regardless of circumstances, to pray about every concern, and to live with an attitude of Thankfulness.

It’s funny, I’ve been asked in the past why I try to live as a Christian should. I’ve known people that were just baffled that anyone would give up their old lifestyle to follow this Jesus person. At the time I usually didn’t know how exactly to respond, but looking back I now know the word I should have said: thankfulness.

    I was reminded today that thankfulness should be one of the great motivators of every Christian. “We love because He first loved us” is a reaction of gratefulness. Loving God and loving people is a response of appreciaition for all that God has done. We live for Christ because He made us, loved us, bought us, cleansed us, freed us, etc. If I were to list all the reasons we should thank God, my entire life time would not be enough time.  

    I am thankful for Who God is and what He’s done. I am thankful for life. I am thankful for truth. I am thankful for love. I am thankful for literature. I am thankful for photography. I am thankful for music. I am thankful for snow capped mountains. I am thankful for vibrant flowers. I am thankful for the trees. I am thankful for cats. I am thankful for culture. I am thankful for horses. I am thankful for tea. I am thankful for feasts. I am thankful for family. I am thankful for friendship. I am thankful for you.

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankfulness.

  1. rodeo4christ says:

    I’ve never thought about it that way before, but now that I think about it, it is. To reiterate your point, in addition to simply being grateful to God for him loving us, we have so many other things to be thankful to Him for as well.

  2. Carson says:

    Soo true! I’d never thought too much about that myself.. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Hope you had a happy Thanksgiving (=

  3. Pingback: NaNo, Girlfriends, Skirts, Black Friday, Portraits, Christmas music … I warned you. « Music Maiden

  4. Michelle says:

    That was a beautiful post! The scripture that you quoted, “We love because He first loved us”, has been on my heart a lot lately. How could we not long to follow and serve Him once we come to realize how much He loves us?

    This is Michelle Marie from Homeschool Alumni by the way. 🙂

    • Thank you! And amen! Glad to hear He’s been speaking to you these days!
      That verse has been on my heart a lot lately as well. Especially ’cause one of my students gave me a sticky note shaped like a heart for teachers appreciation day at my homeschool group and on it was written: “Love your Lord because He first loved you” and it had a drawing of Calvary. I was amazed at how God used a little child to remind me of the most profound Truth. I keep that note on my mirror and it reminds me every time I see it. Haha. That was kind of random, but yeah!

      Well hey, Michelle! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

