A Knight That Doesn’t Shine.

I feel like writing a blog today, but I don’t know what to write about, so I’ll write a poem. This one is really just a poem for the sake of poetry. I just wanted to try my hand at a sonnet. It really doesn’t have anything to do with what’s on my mind these days or what I’m going through.

It is unusually sentimental for my writing style, but bear with me. It’s from the perspective of the ordinary-looking nice guy that is always unnoticed, but knows he’ll find his bride someday. I know several of these genetlemen. They are some of my favourite people.

So frustrated gents, this is for you. I hope you don’t mind if I steal your perspective for a moment. Hopefully it encourages some one or other. Also, it really has nothing to do with the photograph of the car. I just liked it so I thought I’d share.

One day you will awake and realize,
That I am your hero in disguise.
I am your knight although I do not shine.
Quality to looks does not consign.

Just open your eyes and you will see,
There’s more to love than strong arms and blue eyes.
This truth, let no feeling tear apart:
Love is more than a flutter of the heart.

Please do not regard me with loathing
Because I am a prince in frog’s clothing.
Listen not to simple elation,
My love springs from determination.

Love is faithful and love is true.
One truth I know: I will wait for you.

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Art, Chivalry, Poetry, Redemption and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Knight That Doesn’t Shine.

  1. standAmazed says:

    Great poem! I can relate 😉

  2. Annie says:

    Aw, I like it. : )

  3. Nessa says:

    Wow, This is so good! I greatly admire your perspective 🙂

Leave a Reply

