How Feminism Destroys Chivalry.

Anyone that knows me probably knows that I am a complete philosophy nerd. I love understanding, contradicting, and correcting other viewpoints. I love discovering, defending, and declaring truth. Yet, for the most part I try to avoid attacking opponents unless it’s necessary. However, I really feel like I need to say something about the ideology of feminism. It has been driving me bonkers for quite a while now.

     Feminism bothers me more than almost any other mindset that I disagree with. There are a multitude of things I could nit-pick about it. If I were to write about every reason I disagree with the ideology it would become a series of books instead of a blog, so I’ll digress. For right now I just want to hammer on one of the things that bothers me the most: Feminism destroys chivalry.

     I hear many complaints about how chivalry is dead. I have heard that lament from old men, young men, ladies, girls, Christians, non-Christians, etc. It is pretty common really. I disagree with that statement, personally. I do not believe that chivalry is dead. There are still gentlemen in the world that are fighting for it. However, I do believe it is on life-support and feminism is poised to pull the plug.

     On the surface feminism and chivalry don’t seem to interfere with each other all that much. In fact, some people look at me funny when I say that the two are connected. But feminism really has a more profound impact on how men act than most people realize. I would say that in a society dominated by feminism it is nearly impossible to be a gentleman.

     Why does feminism render chivalry impossible? There are three reasons that I think are the most prevailant: feminism lowers the expectations place on men, insults those that exceed those expectations, and tries to destroy the difference between men and women. These three reasons have transformed many would-be gentlemen into nothing more than ‘dudes.’

     The first reason I mentioned is not noticed very often it seems and appears a bit more obscure. When I say it lowers the expectations placed on men, I mean that it expects men to be brainless barbarians. Speaking as a young man, I tell you that most of us will rise to the expectations that are placed upon us. If men are expected to be nothing more than beasts that is how they will act. 

     If men are expected to look like Homer Simpson that is what most of them will become. If men are expected to treat women the same way they treat each other, that is how they will treat them. If men are expected to rise to the occasion and treat women with respect and be courteous, intelligent, and strong, that is what many of them will be. Feminism destroys the expectations that should be placed on men. 

     On the second reason I speak as a young man that is very frustrated about being labeled a ‘sexist’ because he tries to be a gentleman. It makes me angry when I see a generation of men acting like children. It makes me even more angry when I see that the few that aim to be real men get ripped down for their efforts. The first group are insulted for not trying to be gentlemen. The second group are scorned and considered condescending for trying.

     Ladies, trust me when I say that most guys are not being condescending, or arrogant, or sexist, when they open doors for you, or offer to pay for your lunch, or carry things for you, or walk you to your car. It is not because we think you’re weak. It is because we respect you. Gentlemen understand that women are different from men and they honour the difference.

     That leads me to the last reason. I believe there is a fundamental difference between men and women. In feminism’s aim for equality it has thrown the baby out with the bath-water. Feminism propogates that men and women are not only equal, but the same. Whereas it is true that men and women are equal, it is entirely incorrect to claim that they are not different. They both have their strengths and weaknesses. And that is the way it is meant to be. 

     The aim of chivalry is to value women for who they are. It recognizes that they are not men and it uses the strength of masculinity to respect the feminine. When men are expected to be barbarians, insulted for trying to be courteous, and told that they should treat women the way they treat the guys, it is almost impossible for them to be gentlemen. That is why I hate feminism: because I love chivalry.

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Chivalry, Philosophy, Redemption and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to How Feminism Destroys Chivalry.

  1. leeleegirl4 says:

    I’m glad to know that at least one guy believes in chivalry. Well, I know lots of guys try to live chivalrous lives, but few actually write about it. Keep strong.

  2. This is one amazing blog, Jonathon! I am so glad to hear there are still chivalry believing men in this world. I’ve never been able to fathom why some women think that when a man does something for them, such as open a door, that it is because they think she is week. I have always seen it as a respect thing. I actually think it is very disrespectful for a man NOT to at least open a door for a woman. Anyway, there are a lot of people in this world that need to read this blog of yours. I think it is really going to open some doors, my good friend. 🙂 Keep strong. Keep up the amazing work. 🙂 You are going to go far!

  3. Carson says:

    Encore, Encore!!!!!!
    All there is to say is… EXACTLY!
    Appreciating the thoughts!

  4. Barry W. says:

    Wow. Excellent post! Right up my alley :chuckle: Keep up the good work!!

  5. Kevin says:

    Why do you support chivalry?

    • A good question, sir. I support chivalry for a number of reasons, some important, some trivial. The trivial being that I have a peculiar fascination with the Renaissance era and enjoy some of the values that men in that culture held to. The more important reasons being along the lines of the fact that it values defending the weak, speaking with integrity, and respecting women for who they are. If you disagree with me that’s fine, but as I mentioned in the ‘About’ section of my blog, one of my primary aims is to revive chivalry, so that’s what you’ll be seeing if you read my blog.
      Thanks for taking the time to read and respond! I appreciate it!

  6. Kevin says:

    Awesome, thanks for the reply.

  7. Amy says:

    Amen brother! I totally agree with you! I get so frustrated with women who are feminists! I was watching a video not to long ago, and there was a man and a woman on a panel answering questions together, and they both started to talk at the same time, and so the man said, “Ladies first.” And her response? “No sexism now!” I was so offended, I wanted to shout at her!!!
    Anyways, thanks again! Don’t pay attention to those feminists – there are true ladies out there who appreciate a true gentleman and chivalry! 🙂

    • Glad you agree!
      Haha Wow, that’s so peculiar to me that anyone could consider that remark “sexist.” People are so interesting. Just have to love them anyway.
      Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment! And thank you for appreciating the gents that are aiming to revive chivalry!

  8. Julia says:

    Well written, insightful.

    I think a key is that men and women have different roles. God-designed roles, that is, but inserting a discussion of God adds a difficulty in a discussion with true-blue feminists.

    I’m over 35. In recent years I’ve actually had to learn how to expect and receive chivalry. I tended to hang back and humbly allow others to go first. Even men. That didn’t work if the fellow intended to be graciously chivalrous. I made some mistakes! But some gentlemen handled things very well. For example, a gentleman who kept his feet planted while kindly motioning with his entire arm that I was to proceed him out of the elevator. Even though I thought to let him go first, he communicated clearly and I was able to quickly correct my thinking and move my feet.

    Please keep thinking and writing. You’re doing well.

    • Thank you for reading and for the encouragement!
      I agree that inserting God into the discussion can make it difficult, but sometimes it is necessary. Though sometimes it is not even necessary in that common sense in and of itself should be enough to be able to discern the fact that men and women are not the same.
      That is a very good example. Thanks for sharing!
      Thanks again for reading and responding.
      Ciao!

  9. Carmen Thigpen says:

    Thank you for writing. You are a breath of fresh air. Keep it up!

  10. rodeo4christ says:

    Very good points.
    Another thing is that it is okay for the ladies to ask a gentleman for help when it is needed! We don’t have to do everything ourselves…

    Thanks for writing!

  11. Rebecca says:

    I’ve been called a sexist for suggesting that a guy might not enjoy cooking and making little dolls. Go figure.
    I love this post. It’s hard to be a girl fighting against feminism these days, but I totally agree with and love this post.

  12. Pingback: Farewell to Wimpy Christianity. | Prospect of Redemption

Leave a Reply

