Opportunities.

 “It seems the more people know about science the more deeply religious they become.” – Brian the haircutter.

     That quote came from a conversation I had today whilst getting my hair cut. It was pretty neat to get to talk to some random stranger about the overwhelming evidence for a Creator. I love it when I get opportunities to talk with people about things of that nature. The conversation I had with the haircutter today was short but it made me think. It made me think about how cool it is that God can present opportunities at the most unexpected times, but also about how many times I overlook what can be a great opportunity.

     I suppose it might be part of American culture, but I’ve noticed it’s very easy to just go through day to day without paying any attention to the people around us. It is strange to me that we can encounter so many people without really taking any time to talk to them. Certainly it is easy to do. I mean, you go to the grocery store for groceries, and to the haircutters for a haircut, not for conversation. I’m not saying we should stop and talk to every single person we walk by, but I do think we miss a lot of opportunities by not talking to people and that perhaps we should learn to be more open to communicating with people we don’t know.

     It is amusing to me when Christians complain to me that they do not see God working in their lives, but then don’t make an effort to invest in people. I have found that, at least in my life, God works far more noticeably when I am getting out of my comfort zone and engage with people that I am not familiar with. I am convinced that God works far more powerfully in  our lives when we are willing to connect with people.  

     Perhaps it is an American thing, but I have noticed that many Christians I know consider their faith a very individual sort of thing. I have heard the phrase “It’s not a religion, it’s a relationship!” more times than I can count. Whereas I see the merit of their thinking, I believe that mindset misses an important point. Christianity is meant to be more than just your personal relationship with God

     It is more than just you and God. It is about you and God and the people God created. We seem to think we can carry on our lives within our little sphere of influence and never branch out and that the only thing that really matters is our relationship with God. Whereas it is true that knowing Christ is the most important, investing in people is crucial as well. In fact, I would argue that in order to know Christ in a deeper way and practice the life He demands of His followers, we need to reach out to people. 

     I wonder how many opportunities for learning more about Jesus I have missed from not making an effort to reach out to people. I can promise you that people are far less frightening than we often think they are. If you take time to listen and to engage with people I think you will find that it is worth overcoming your nervousness to talk to them. People are fascinating and are worth investing in. Christianity is meant to involve community and community can only be developed by reaching out to those around you. I suppose I just wrote this post because I am just fascinated by how valuable simple conversations can be. I hope it blessed you.

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Community, Redemption and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opportunities.

  1. Rebecca says:

    Very very good and so true! If we take the “individual religion” aspect too far, then it destroys the reason for evangelism. After all, if it’s a “me” thing, then there’s no reason to share it with others. After all, it’s not their faith.

Leave a Reply

