Resounding.

     Well, this feels like the longest I’ve gone without blogging since I began, and I suppose it’s due to a lack of time spent on the computer. Well, I don’t have a large and eloquent post, but here’s a poem that’s been on my heart. For some reason I felt drawn to write about shootings. Disturbing topic, but I needed to get it out of me. It’s mainly about how men are capable of both unspeakable evil and profound heroism.

A young man stands
With hate in his heart
And a gun in his hands.

All that was his 
Now standing apart
From the man that he is.

Now the fires flash,
The innocent fall,
And all is smoke and ash. 

A hero stands,
Now risking his all, 
With their lives in his hands.

A weapon of death
In the good man’s grip
Can save another breath.

Though man is weak,
No more than a drip, 
Actions, resounding, speak.

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Chivalry, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

