Yoke.

 “28 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 

     I’ve been realizing just how relevant this verse is to my life lately. It’s interesting to me that certain preachers like Rob Bell and Brian McLaren think that we need to redesign Christianity to make it relevant. That’s not the case at all. I’ve been finding that time and time again God proves His Word true today just as He did in the days that the Scriptures were being written.

    Jesus is still the perfect source of peace and rest and His ways still make the most sense. That is something I’ve been relearning these days. So often I tend to think that I can carry my own burdens, try things my own way, etc. I seem to think that it’s a lovely idea to give Jesus my burdens, but not something I can actually do. Sometimes it appears too difficult, and I allow that appearance to drive me away from actually trying. Yet, I find when I make an effort to go to Him with my burdens, He really is faithful to give me rest.

     It’s fascinating that it’s difficult to live the Christian life, and yet, it makes everything else bearable. It is true following Jesus does involve work. He tells us to take on His yoke for a reason. It is tough labour to always do the right thing. Yet, His burden is light and His yoke is easy. The way I see it, we will face hardship one way or the other. Either it can be ease now and hardship later when we avoid following Jesus and face the consequences, or we can face hardship now by choosing to follow Him and be given the eternal reward later. Seeing that His reward lasts a good deal longer than temporary ease, it’s definitely worth it.

     But eternity aside, I’ve been realizing that living out Christian principles just make sense for every day life too. One example that springs to my mind is something that happened to me a month or two ago. So I had a glass of milk, drank its contents and then put the glass on the table. But later I was thirsty again and this time wanted juice. I figured I should probably wash my cup and reuse it, but I felt lazy so I just got a new glass. I then proceed to drink some of it and put it on the table. The problem was that I accidentally put it right on top of the other cup. The first cup shattered and juice, milk, and glass scattered everywhere.

     I got to spend the next half an hour or so cleaning up the mess, getting glass splinters in my hands, and so forth. I realized then that if I had just worked a little bit harder by washing out my cup in the first place it would have saved me a good deal of effort in the long run. I think Jesus’ yoke is kind of like that sometimes. If we live out His principles (in this case: don’t be lazy) they tend to have good effects in our everyday lives.

     I suppose my point is this: following Jesus isn’t just some abstract thing that only effects our eternity, or isn’t relevant to our everyday lives, but rather it effects anything and everything and is not only true, but actually practical as well. Not sure if I made any sense, but if you understood it I’m glad. So how are you, dear readers? What’s God been doing in your lives?

About Jonathon Thigpen

I am a student, writer, photographer, traveler, teacher, and Lego enthusiast, who is endeavouring to be a man after God's own heart.
This entry was posted in Philosophy, Redemption and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yoke.

  1. Annie says:

    I love this, friend. Good stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

